Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Girls Basketball - Lapwai Vs. Oakley

From left, Oakley's Brittany Hardy, Makinlee Cranney, Jaclyn Wybenga, Rachael Mitton and Brynn Westover celebrate their win over Lapwai during the 1A-DI state semifinals Friday, Feb. 16, 2018, at Columbia High School in Nampa.

The Snake River Conference released its all-conference basketball selections on Wednesday, and the best teams received the top honors.

Oakley senior Rachael Mitton was named the conference girls player of the year, and her coach Matt Payton earned coach of the year honors. Mitton and Payton helped the Hornets earn the 1A Division I state championship, their first state title since 1930.

The Valley boys also reached the 1A-DI title game, which they lost to Lapwai. That team success led to individual accolades. The SRC's boys player of the year was Vikings junior Zane Mussmann, and the coach of the year was Valley's Brian Hardy.

Valley vs. Lapwai State Championship

Lapwai junior JJ Reuben reaches for Valley junior Zane Mussmann after falling to the ground during the 1A DI State Championship game Saturday, March 3, 2018, at the Ford Idaho Center in Nampa.

All-Snake River Conference basketball selections


Coach of the year: Brian Hardy, Valley

Player of the year: Zane Mussmann, junior, Valley

First team

Jason Hardy, junior, Valley

Wacey Williams, junior, Glenns Ferry

Gannon Critchfield, junior, Oakley

Ben Christensen, senior, Valley

Rylee Spencer, junior, Raft River

Second team

Jayden Palmer, senior, Oakley

Kody Henslee, sophomore, Glenns Ferry

Chandler Jones, sophomore, Oakley

Justin Schumann, sophomore, Raft River

Carson Grigg, junior, Glenns Ferry

Honorable mention

Caleb Owsley, senior, Hagerman

Patrick Taber, junior, Shoshone

Braxton Poole, senior, Raft River

Ethan Perry, senior, Shoshone

Alex Korom, junior, Valley


Coach of the year: Matt Payton, Oakley

Player of the year: Rachael Mitton, senior, Oakley

First team

Brittany Hardy, senior, Oakley

Blakely Payton, senior, Oakley

Cierra Hennings, junior, Shoshone

Bailee Owens, junior, Shoshone

Amanda Carpenter, senior, Raft River

Second team

Sage Wootan, senior, Glenns Ferry

Makinlee Cranney, senior, Oakley

Monce Rivas, senior, Shoshone

Makenna Kohtz, freshman, Valley

Alana Floyd, junior, Hagerman

Honorable mention

Get the latest sports news and scores sent to your email inbox

Jaclyn Wybenga, senior, Oakley

Katie Johnson, junior, Valley

Elly Yore, junior, Hagerman

Kamri Ottley, sophomore, Raft River

Patti Fitzgerald, junior, Shoshone


The Canyon Conference awarded first and second boys basketball teams for the 2017-18 season, and both teams were announced on Wednesday.

The two-team conference didn't name a player or coach of the year, and no all-conference girls teams had been released as of Wednesday night.

All-Canyon Conference boys basketball selections

First team

Trey Smyer, Declo

Blake Hughes, Wendell

Keegan Duncan, Declo

Angel Espino, Wendell

Tyson Ramsey, Declo

Second team

Tanner Schroeder, Declo

Kyler Lukesh, Wendell

Garrett Darrington, Declo

Mason Lawton, Wendell

Bart Gibby, Declo


Load comments