Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Football - 4A State Championship

Minico's Larry Vega carries the ball against Skyline during the 4A state championship game Friday night, Nov. 17, 2017, at Holt Arena in Pocatello.

The All-Idaho high school football teams were released on Thursday and Friday, and several District 4 players were selected.

The All-Idaho selections were determined by coaches across state and compiled by the Idaho Statesman. All of the selections can be found here.

Class 4A

Last month, Larry Vega led Minico to its first state championship game in program history. This week, the senior was named the 4A All-Idaho player of the year.

Vega rushed for 1,807 yards and 14 touchdowns this season, and he averaged 9 yards per carry.

“He ran hard and low, and was difficult to take down on first or even second contact,” Century coach Travis Hobson told the Idaho Statesman. “We had to specifically game plan for him and he still made us pay.”

Vega wasn’t the only Spartan to receive an all-state honor. Senior wide receiver Nicky Caldera, senior offensive lineman Juan Ruiz and senior defensive lineman Tim Miller were all named to the All-Idaho first team. Spartans senior quarterback John Perrigot and junior defensive back Colter May were named to the second team.

Wood River senior Taylor Koth was the first-team kicker for the second straight year.

Twin Falls had a pair of second-teamers: junior offensive lineman Hudson Klundt and senior defensive lineman Connor Bradley.

Canyon Ridge junior defensive back Jesse Mark also made the second team.

Skyline’s Scott Berger was named the coach of the year.

Class 3A

Five players from Gooding made the first team, highlighted by a pair of brothers. Senators sophomore Shane Jennings was named the first-team quarterback, and senior Ruger Jennings was a first-team linebacker. It was the third first-team selection for the older Jennings, who is committed to Idaho State.

Junior wide receiver Cayden Loveland, senior center Andrew Carter and junior defensive lineman Jake McGinnis also represented Gooding on the first team. It was McGinnis’ second first-team selection.

Senators senior running back Mike Needham, senior linebacker Sam Funkhouser (also an ISU commit) and junior defensive back Anthony Novis made the second team.

Kimberly junior running back McKade Huft was a first-teamer, while Bulldogs junior receiver Blake Phillips and senior lineman Collin Glass made the second team. Glass was selected on offense and defense.

Fruitland had the player of the year (senior RB Jordan Eggers) and coach of the year (Ryan Tracy).

2A state football championship: Declo vs. Firth

Declo’s Keegan Duncan (2) runs out of the reach of a Firth defender during the 2A state football championship game Saturday, Nov. 18, 2017, at Holt Arena in Pocatello.

Class 2A

Declo capped an undefeated season with a state championship. Unsurprisingly, the Hornets were well-represented on the All-Idaho team.

Junior running back Keegan Duncan was named the player of the year after amassing 3,795 all-purpose yards and 42 total touchdowns this past season.

“The only other player I have seen dominate like him at any level in this state is Taysom Hill,” Aberdeen coach Jeff Duffin told the Statesman.

Hill was a star quarterback at Highland and BYU. He now plays in the NFL for the New Orleans Saints.

Declo’s Kelly Kidd was named the coach of the year.

Declo junior Tyson Matthews, senior defensive back Garrett Darrington and senior kicker Tanner Schroeder were named to the first team. Matthews made it as an offensive lineman and a linebacker.

The second team featured five Hornets: junior Jakeb Garrard (OL), senior Sy Osterhout (OL), senior Richard Robertson (DL), junior Mckay Breshears (LB) and senior Kyle Hansen (DB).

Class 1A Division I

After reaching the state quarterfinals, Oakley was rewarded with several All-Idaho selections.

Get the latest sports news and scores sent to your email inbox

Hornets sophomore Chandler Jones was named a first-team wide receiver and defensive back. He played the final four games of the season at quarterback in place of the injured Tate Cranney.

Oakley’s other first-teamers were senior Jake Nyman (offensive and defensive line) and Austin Bedke (linebacker).

Valley junior Jason Hardy was named the first-team quarterback. His teammates Zane Mussman (junior WR), Collin Tvrdy (sophomore DL) and Nic Anderson (junior LB) were named to the second team.

Hagerman senior Caleb Owsley was the first-team punter.

Raft River had two second-teamers: seniors Quinton Ward (RB) and Braxton Poole (OL and DL).

Gennesse senior RB/LB Edward Becker was the player of the year, and Prairie’s Ryan Hasselstrom earned coach of the year honors.

Football - Mackay Vs. Carey

Carey’s Porter Mecham carries the ball against Mackay’s Jacob Whitworth during their game Thursday night, Oct. 26, 2017, at Carey High School.

Class 1A Division II

Carey, like Declo, was rewarded for going undefeated and winning a state title.

Lane Kirkland was named the coach of the year, and junior Porter Mecham was named the player of the year thanks to his dominant performances at running back and linebacker for the Panthers.

“He has a unique combination of speed and strength,” Deary coach Darrah Eggers told the Statesman. “Very good vision and cutback ability. Seemed like a very classy and respectful young man, as well.”

Five Carey seniors were named to the first team: Houston Hennefer (QB), Tanner Mecham (TE), Trevor Kirkland (OL), DJ Parke (LB) and Kaden Koudelka (DB). Koudelka was also a second-team tight end, and Carey junior Omar Morales was the second-team kicker.

Dietrich senior Kade Shaw was named a first-team defensive back, and his teammate Lon Page made the second team defensive line.

Lighthouse Christian had two second-team selections: senior offensive lineman Justin Scarrow and senior linebacker Connor Holloway.


Load comments