Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Burley vs. Vallivue state basketball

Burley senior Ryan Bagley makes a layup against Vallivue Thursday, March 1, 2018, during the 4A boys state basketball tournament at Borah High School in Boise.

The all-Great Basin Conference basketball selections were announced on Tuesday, and Mini-Cassia teams dominated the top honors.

Burley senior Ryan Bagley was named the conference’s boys player of the year, and Minico senior Saydi Anderson earned girls player of the year honors.

Both players led their teams to the 4A state tournament. Bagley’s Bobcats lost to undefeated Preston in the state title game, while Anderson’s Spartans beat Preston for the consolation trophy.

Girls Basketball - Minico Vs. Century

Minico's Saydi Anderson looks to score against Century during the state championships Thursday, Feb. 15, 2018, at Mountain View High School in Meridian.

Bagley’s teammate Brock Whitaker, also a senior, was named the GBC’s defensive player of the year, and Burley’s Trent Whiting was named the coach of the year.

The Bobcats also received both honors on the girls side. Senior Hallie Cook was selected as the defensive player of the year, and Roger Caresia was the coach of the year. They helped Burley win the 4A state championship.

The all-conference selections also included a first team, a second team, honorable mentions and a sportsperson of the year for all six GBC schools.


All-Great Basin Conference selections


Player of the year: Ryan Bagley, Burley

Defensive player of the year: Brock Whitaker, Burley

Coach of the year: Trent Whiting, Burley

Sportsperson of the year:

Burley: Ben Geary

Canyon Ridge: Logan Alquist

Jerome: David Lloyd

Minico: Jonathan Brumley

Twin Falls: Hudson Klundt

Wood River: Isaac Loomis

First team

Andrew Ferrin, Burley

Faust Ystueta, Twin Falls

Mitchell Brizee, Twin Falls

Jace Whiting, Burley

Kobe Matsen, Minico

Johnny Radford, Wood River

Second team

Ryan Ball, Twin Falls

Kasen Carpenter, Minico

Izak Cuellar, Canyon Ridge

Cole Baker, Jerome

Winston Duggan, Twin Falls

Honorable mention

Jackson Hill, Burley

Brayden Olsen, Wood River

Brock Whitaker, Burley

Regen Povlsen, Minico

Hudson Pierce, Canyon Ridge

Derek Clark, Canyon Ridge

Logan Ahlquist, Canyon Ridge

Austin Bell, Jerome


Player of the year: Saydi Anderson, Minico

Defensive player of the year: Hallie Cook, Burley

Coach of the year: Roger Caresia, Burley

Get the latest sports news and scores sent to your email inbox

Sportsperson of the year:

Burley: Jaida Page

Canyon Ridge: Caitlin Crist

Jerome: Nicole Cook

Minico: Saydi Anderson

Twin Falls: Madison Glascock

Wood River: Emma Flolo

First team

Jemilynn Mahoney, Burley

Taylia Stimpson, Minico

Caitlin Crist, Canyon Ridge

Sydney Piling, Burley

Hallie Cook, Burley

Second team

Morgan Harr, Twin Falls

Kylie Baumert, Twin Falls

Mercedes Bell, Jerome

Audra Mary, Wood River

Jordan Hill, Jerome

Honorable mention

Taycee Harper, Minico

Maura Merrill, Minico

Madison Glascock, Twin Falls

Nicole Cook, Jerome


Load comments