Subscribe for 33¢ / day
District employees honored

Minidoka County School District honored employees April 5. District Superintendent Ken Cox, right, Sandra Clayville, was named Classified Employee of the Year, Alicia Bywater, transportation supervisor, was named Administrator of the Year and Shannon Brown, left, construction teacher at Minico High School was named Teacher of the Year.

RUPERT — Minidoka County School District named its outstanding employees for the year.

Sandra Clayville was named Classified Employee of the year. Clayville has worked in the district service center for the past five years as accounts payable specialist and spent 21 years in the office at Minico High School.

She was also recognized for her many years of service, a school district statement said.

The district’s award for Administrator of the Year went to Alicia Bywater, transportation supervisor. Bywater has worked in that role for the past nine years and in the transportation department for 25 years.

“I believe that Alicia is the most complimented administrator or supervisor in the district,” Superintendent Ken Cox said. “She certainly deserves this recognition. She always tries to focus on doing what she can to make the best of any situation, especially this winter with all the inclement weather where she was often out on the roads by 4 a.m.”

Shannon Brown, who teaches construction at Minico, was named Teacher of the Year.

He has worked at the district for 32 years.

Principal Suzette Miller said Brown is “quite a character.” The two started their careers at the school together 12 years ago, she said.

Other employees who were recognized during a reception on April 5 include Acequia Elementary School employees, Shayla Zampedri, the head cook, for 27 years of service and teacher Peggy Gulbranson for 17 years on the job.

Honored at Heyburn Elementary School were secretary Elva Reyes and teacher Lane Baker.

At Paul Elementary School, teacher Mary Frances Cozakos and head custodian Aida Madera were honored.

At Rupert Elementary School, paraprofessional Jackie Catmull and teacher Katy Laumb were recognized.

Get news headlines sent daily to your inbox

East Minico Middle School, Candice Jones, teacher, 26 years, Julie Muecke, special education para, four years.

West Minico Middle School, Jennifer Borden, teacher, 12 years, Wendy Brown, special education para, three years.

At Minico High School Joni Castillo, special education para, two years.

Transportation, Royce Barfuss, bus driver, two years.

Other departments, Mary Davis, Mount Harrison Jr./Sr. High School, 16 years.


Load comments