Try 1 month for 99¢
award winners

Twin Falls High School junior Kayson Hansen, right, and Timberline High School senior Alex Howard of Boise earned 4th place category awards at a recent international science and engineering fair.

EVANSTON, Ill. — The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced the names of five semifinalists from south-central Idaho who will be in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship program:

  • Kayson T. Hansen of Twin Falls High School
  • Brynne Wallace of Xavier Charter School, Twin Falls
  • Luke B. Dean of Wood River High School, Hailey
  • Joseph B. Hall of the Community School, Sun Valley
  • Peter H. Morawitz of the Community School, Sun Valley

The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

To become a finalist, the semifinalist and their high school must submit a detailed scholarship application in which they provide information about their academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment and honors and awards received.

A semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test. Semifinalists will be notified of finalist designation in February.

Merit Scholar designees will be selected on the basis of skills, accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college studies — without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin or religious preference. National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced beginning in April and concluding in July.


Load comments