Wood River vs. Skyview boys soccer

Wood River’s Jossett Guzman (8) celebrates his goal with teammate Jose Quinones (7) in the first half of their first round matchup with Skyview Thursday, Oct. 19, 2017, in the 4A boys soccer state tournament in Caldwell, Idaho.

Photo by Steve Conner

The all-state boys and girls soccer selections were released this past weekend, and several local players made the teams.

Boys 4A state champion Wood River had three selections: junior midfielder Jovany Armenta, junior forward Jossett Guzman and junior defender Mario Macias. Canyon Ridge senior Sagar Bhattarai and Burley senior Jesse Cardenas were also named to the all-state team.

Twin Falls senior forward Madison Glascock and Canyon Ridge senior midfielder Jade Higley were selected to the 4A girls all-state team.

At the 3A level, Community School’s Richard Whitelaw was named the private school coach of the year. Two of his players — sophomore forward Cash Dart and senior midfielder Charlie Stumph — were named to the all-state team. Bliss junior defender Saul Valencia and senior midfielder Yuvani Vizcarra were also named.

Community School had two 3A girls all-state selections: junior forward Lily Fitzgerald and senior midfielder Ella Viesturs. Declo senior goalkeeper Kamree Williams was also selection.

All of the selections, which were determined by the Idaho High School Soccer Coaches Association, are below.

4A boys

Player of the year: Guadalupe Barajas, midfield, sr., Ridgevue

Team: Adrian Arguello, midfield, jr., Caldwell; Jovany Armenta, midfield, jr., Wood River; Erick Arizmendi, defense, sr., Caldwell; Sagar Bhattarai, sr., Canyon Ridge; Jesse Cardenas, sr., Burley; Jossett Guzman, forward, jr., Wood River; Tanner Kohal, defense, sr., Sandpoint; Mario Macias, defense, jr., Wood River; Jevon Olvera, goal, jr., Caldwell; Mac Stultz, forward, sr., Sandpoint; Coque Velasquez, forward, sr., Blackfoot

4A girls

Player of the year: Grace Elwer, midfield, jr., Bishop Kelly

Private school coach of the year: Meagan Lyons, Bishop Kelly

Team: Nicole Anderson, goal, sr., Bishop Kelly; Abigail Bufford, midfield, sr. Vallivue; Lauren Elwer, forward, jr., Bishop Kelly; Madison Glascock, forward, sr., Twin Falls; Elizabeth Gonzalez, forward, jr., Vallivue; Courtney Handlin, defense, sr., Century; Jade Higley, midfield, sr., Jezza Hutto, defense, jr., Sandpoint; Tatum Seastrand, midfield, jr., Bishop Kelly; Casey Shaha, forward, sr., Sandpoint; Isabella Vinsonhaler, defense, sr., Bishop Kelly; Riley Walkington, midfield, sr., Sandpoint; Yeo Yarnell, defense, jr., Sandpoint

3A boys

Player of the year: Denton Meijerink, Timberlake

Private school coach of the year: Richard Whitelaw, Community School

Small school coach of the year: Kathy Bokides, Weiser

Team: Tyler Beazer, Bonners Ferry; Cash Dart, forward, so., Community School; Nat Drobish, Orofino; Trevor Hamilton, defense, sr., McCall-Donnelly; Erik King, Bonners Ferry; Fernando Mata, defense, sr., American Falls; Dylan Miranda, goal, fr., Weiser; Cristian Sanchez, forward, sr., Weiser; Charlie Stumph, midfield, sr., Community School; Saul Valencia, defense, jr., Bliss; Yuvani Vizcarra, midfield, sr., Bliss

3A girls

Player of the year: Emma Bartlett, defense, jr., Coeur d’Alene Charter

Small school coach of the year: Stacy Smith, Coeur d’Alene Charter

Team: Korby Bowman, forward, so., Marsh Valley; Eliason Cherrstrom, forward, jr., Coeur d’Alene Charter; Lily Fitzgerald, forward, jr., Community School; Jailene Garcia, defense, sr., American Falls; Jessica Jones, midfield, so., McCall-Donnelly; Izzy Lehosit, midfield, jr., Coeur d’Alene Charter; Macey Morris, midfield, so., Marsh Valley; Daniela Quintero-Reyes, midfield, so., Shelley; Jazmin Romero, defense, sr., Shelley; Shelby Starr, forward, sr., Timberlake; Emma Stohl, defense, sr., Shelley; Ella Viesturs, midfield, sr., Community School; Kamree Williams, goal, sr., Declo

Get the latest sports news and scores sent to your email inbox

Girls basketball

Lighthouse Christian 62, Camas County 14

TWIN FALLS — The Lions crushed the Mushers for a North Side Conference win.

Sabrina De Jong scored a game-high 16 points, and Chloe Gomez added 15 for Lighthouse (4-0), which hosts Castleford on Tuesday.

Ashlynn Whittle scored eight points for Camas County (0-2), which hosts Twin Falls Christian Academy next Tuesday.


Lighthouse Christian 62, Camas County 14

Camas County 6 2 1 5 — 14

Lighthouse Christian 16 19 19 8 — 62

CAMAS COUNTY (14) — Ashlynn Whittle 8, Aisha Clarke 1, Samantha McFadyen 5. FG: 4. FT: 4-10. 3-pointers: 2 (Whittle 2). Total fouls: 10. Fouled out: none.

LIGHTHOUSE CHRISTIAN (62) — Trudy Millenkamp, 4, Sabrina De Jong 16, Chloe Gomez 15, Lauren Gomez 3, Haylee Grossman 4, Maycee Holloway 2, Mikayla Maxfield 4, Jordy Williams 2, Caitlyn Gaskill 8, Jordan Morton 4. FG: 28. FT: 5-8. 3-pointers: 1 (Gomez). Total fouls: 11. Fouled out: None.


Load comments