Football - Gooding Vs. Kimberly

Gooding head coach Cameron Andersen reacts during introductions Friday night, Sept. 29, 2017, in Kimberly.


Gooding High School dominated the 2017 all-Sawtooth Central Idaho Conference football selections, which were announced Thursday.

Gooding’s Cameron Andersen was named the coach of the year, and a pair of brothers captured the player awards. Senators sophomore quarterback Shane Jennings was named the offensive player of the year, and his senior brother Ruger Jennings earned defensive player of the year honors.

All of the selections, which were determined by SCIC coaches, are below.

All-SCIC football selections

Coach of the year: Cameron Andersen, Gooding

Offensive player of the year: Shane Jennings, so. QB, Gooding

Defensive player of the year: Ruger Jennings, sr. LB, Gooding

First team

QB: Dawson Cummins, so., Kimberly

RB: McKade Huft, so., Kimberly; Josh Hughes, sr., Filer; Mike Needham, sr., Gooding

WR: Cayden Loveland, jr., Gooding; Cade Morris, jr., Gooding; Blake Phillips, jr., Kimberly

OL: Kolton Adkinson, sr., Gooding; Andrew Carter, sr., Gooding; Gavino Gaspar, jr., Gooding; Collin Glass, sr., Kimberly; Noah Heath, sr., Kimberly

DL: Andrew Carter, sr., Gooding; Collin Glass, sr., Kimberly; Jake McGinnis, jr., Gooding; (First-team honorable mention, injury: Taylor Holcomb, sr., Kimberly)

LB: Austin Azevedo, sr., Buhl; AJ Garrell, so., Kimberly; Cade Morris, jr., Gooding; Alan Palmer, sr., Kimberly; Brayden Roe, jr., Gooding; (First-team honorable mention, injury: Sam Funkhouser, sr., Gooding)

DB: Garrett Montgomery, sr., Buhl; Anthony Novis, jr., Gooding; Blake Phillips, jr., Kimberly

P: Jabe Bennett, so., Buhl

Get the latest sports news and scores sent to your email inbox

K: Jabe Bennett, so., Buhl

Second team

QB: Austin Azevedo, sr., Buhl

RB: Garrett Montgomery, sr., Buhl

WR: Roy Newberry, sr., Buhl; Shawn Pamplona, sr., Gooding

OL: Cade Ackerman, sr., Filer; Felipe Esclante, sr., Buhl; Paul Inglin, sr., Gooding; Jaylen Staker, sr., Kimberly

DL: Skyler Borrayo, jr., Filer; Gustavo Cervantes, sr., Buhl; Dain Change, sr., Gooding; Theron Christensen, sr., Buhl; Hunter Klimes, sr., Kimberly

LB: Josh Huges, sr., Filer; Jayden Mullins, sr., Gooding; Marco Oviedo, so., Buhl

DB: Joe Barnes, sr., Filer; Cody Faulkner, sr., Gooding; Cayden Loveland, jr., Gooding


Load comments