Media Day/Football

From left, Carey’s Tanner Mecham, Trevor Kirkland and Houston Hennefer have their photos taken during media day Thursday, July 27, 2017, at the Times-News studio in downtown Twin Falls.


After winning its first state championship since 2010, Carey High School earned several all-Sawtooth West Conference football selections.

The Panthers’ Lane Kirkland was named the coach of the year, while Houston Hennefer received offensive player of the year honors, and fellow senior DJ Parke took home the defensive player of the year award.

Dietrich senior Kade Shaw was named the conference’s MVP.

The full selections, which were determined by the conference’s coaches, can be found below.

All-SWC football selections

MVP: Kade Shaw, sr., Dietrich

Offensive player of the year: Houston Hennefer, sr., Carey

Defensive player of the year: DJ Parke, sr., Carey

Coach of the year: Lane Kirkland, Carey

First team

QB: Connor Holloway, sr., Lighthouse Christian

RB: Porter Mecham, jr., Carey; Hilario Ruiz, sr., Carey; Kade Shaw, sr., Dietrich

TE: Kaden Koudelka, sr., Carey; Remington Kramer, jr., Camas County; Tanner Mecham, sr., Carey

OL: Lon Page, sr., Dietrich; Raymond Peck, sr., Carey; Justin Scarrow, sr., Lighthouse Christian

C: Trevor Kirkland, sr., Carey

DL: Justin Scarrow, sr., Lighthouse Christian; Hayden Wayment, sr., Carey

DE: Lon Page, sr., Dietrich; Cooper Dastrup, jr., Lighthouse Christian; Justin Wood, sr., Richfield

LB: Remington Kramer, jr., Camas County; Porter Mecham, jr., Carey; DJ Parke, sr., Carey; Raygn Robertson, so. Dietrich

S: Kaden Koudelka, sr., Carey; Kade Shaw, sr., Dietrich

K: Justin Wood, sr., Richfield

P: Justin Wood, sr., Richfield

Second team

Get the latest sports news and scores sent to your email inbox

QB: Houston Hennefer, sr., Carey

RB: Raygn Robertson, so. Dietrich; Erik Robles, sr., Camas County

TE: Jordan Bradshaw, sr., Lighthouse Christian; Carter Schilder, jr., Castleford; Gio Zavala, jr., Murtaugh

OL: Adrian DeKruyf, sr., Castleford; Nate Thomas, jr., Murtaugh; Shane VanTassell, sr., Dietrich

C: Cooper Dastrup, jr., Lighthouse Christian

DL: Nathan Green, sr., Lighthouse Christian; Omar Morales, jr., Carey

DE: Keegan Myers, sr., Castleford; Dallin Parke, fr., Carey; Keil Setoki, so., Murtaugh

LB: Hunter Anderson, fr., Murtaugh; Brandon Butler, jr., Lighthouse Christian; Graden Dimond, jr., Murtaugh; Tanner Mecham, sr., Carey

S: Hilario Ruiz, sr., Carey; Carter Schilder, jr., Castleford

K: Kade Setoki, so., Murtaugh

P: Hayden Wayment, sr., Carey


Load comments